List And Brief History of the German States, Grand Duchies, Principalities, etc before 1806.......Page D.  Remmick-Hubert Site

Last Updated: 20 Feb 2004

previous  banner  next


List And Brief History of the German States, Grand Duchies, Principalities, etc before 1806 continued......


button Danemark (Denmark), Kingdom of  The Oldenburg Dynasty were the tenant-in-chief of the kaiser through the tenancies of Holstein and Oldenburg.  The Oldenburg House is Lutheran.  A side note. Emperor Peter III of Russia was of the House of Oldenburg....

[Another note: The Kingdom of Denmark was never part of nor under the suzerainty of the German Empire according to the historian who is correcting this site for errors.]

button Danzig. Presently in Poland.  Was a Reichsstadt.  From 1557 to 1945 the city was predominatly Protestant.  Gained independence in 1454 from the Teutonic Knights.

button Degenberg.  Was  in lower Bavaria  of the Federal Republic of G.ermany.  Was a Grafschaft.  The area was predominantly Catholic.

button Deutschorden.  See Hoch und Deutschmeister [Teutonic Knights.]

button Diepholz.  Was  in Lower Saxony  of the Federal Republic of Germany.  Was Grafschaft.  Member of the Westfelishce Grafenkolleg.  Represented by Braunschweig, Kurbraunschweig and then  the King of England  (Hannover) after 1858.  Now a Landkreis.

button Diessen.  Was a Kreis Landsberg am Lech, Oberbayern  (Upper Bavaria) of the Federal Republic of Germany.  Was Grafschaft.  Predominantly Catholic.  In 1326 the vote in the Reichstag was said to have been cancelled when it became part of Bavaria.

button Dietrichstein Family and Estates. . Presently in Austria. Was Grafschaft and a principality.  Connected to the estates of (1) Tarasp (presently in Kanton Graubueden in Switzerland but Austrian territory before 1803), (2) Herrschaft Proskau und (3) Czrhelitz, (4) Leslie, (5) Reichsherrschaft Neu-Ravensburg (Swabia and lafter sold to Wuerttemberg), (6) Nikolsburg, (7) Hollenburg, (8) Finkenstein, (9) Thalberg,  and (10) Mensdorf-Pouilly.  All but Tarasp were under the tenancy of Austria.   Tarasp was under the Kaiser.  The family von Dietrichstein is Catholic.

button Dinkelsbruehl.  Presently in Mittelfranken in Bavaria.  Old Franconian Imperial City. Was Reichsstadt. Member of the Catholic corpus at the Peace of Westphlia.  1534 area was predominantly Protestant. After 1648 Catholic and Protestants were tolerated.

button  Dissentis  Was prelate nullius. Territory joined the Swiss Confederation.

button Donauwoerth.  See Schwaebish-Woerth.  Presently in Bavaria.  Was earlier a Free Imperial City.

button Dortmund.  Presently in Regierungsbezirk Arnsberg in North Rhineland-Westphalia.  Was Reichsstadt. Member of the Protestant coprus at the Peace of Westphalia.  A number of times the Graf von der Mark tried to seize this area.  In 1803 inherited by House of Orange then Duchy of Berg. 1809 it was the capital of the French Ruhr Department. 1815 became part of the holdings of the Hohenzollern (Prussia).

button Dueren.  Was  in North Rhineland-Westphalia  of the Federal Republic of Germany.  Was Reichsstadt.  In 1242 the town was mortgaged to Juelich and it was never repaid and yet it continued its status as Reichsstadt until 1548.

button Duisburg.  Presently in Regierungsbezirk Duesseldorf in North Rheineland-Wesphalia. Was in Reichsstadt.  Throughout history, the town was connected to the family of Juelich-Kleve.

button Durlach.  See Baden.

button Dyck. Presently in Gemeinde Bedburdyck, Kreis Grevenbroich in North Rhineland - Westphalia.  Was Grafschaft. Predominantly Catholic.  Ruled by the counts of zu Salm-Reifferscheid-Krautheim et [und] Dyck who were Catholic. 



A / B / C  / D / E /F / G / H / H2 / I /J / K /L /M /N /O /P /Q /R /S /T /U / V

/W / X/Y/Z /

German Map Button

Remmick German Facts - Index Page

button to index page

Hubert Home Site




Borodino Home Site