List And Brief History of the German States, Grand Duchies, Principalities, etc before 1806.......Page F.  Remmick-Hubert Site

Last Updated: 20 Feb 2004

prev  banner  next


List And Brief History of the German States, Grand Duchies, Principalities, etc before 1806 continued......


button Falkenstein Estates.  Several estates known by this name.  (1) One of them is presently in  Kreis Rottweil, Ba-Wu [Baden-Wuerttemberg] which was taken by Austria in the 15th Century and was known as a Grafschaft; (2) Another is presently in Kreis Roding, Bavaria which belonged to the Bavarian Duke until 1829 when it was bought by Prince Thurn and Taxis ; (3) Another is presently in Hessen and belonged to the family of Nassau-Weilburg; (4) Another in Kreis Heidenheim, Wu. ; (5) another in Kreis Hettstedt, Berzirk Halle which belonged to the bishopric of Halberstadt....

button Finstingen  Estate or Fenetrange.  Presently in Department of Mosel, Lorraine, France. Was a  Herrschaft.  Held a vote in the Reichstag which was cancelled in 1458.  A portion of this estate was regained in 1751 under Hapsburg-Lothringen who were Catholic.

button Frankfurt on the Main (River). Presently in Hesssen.  Old Imperial city. Was Reichstadt.  Member of the Protestant corpus at the Peace of Westphalia.  A great many families from Netherlands (Dutch) and Walloon (area in Belgium) refugees of the Reformed Church were given refuge in this city.  Many elections and coronations of German "kaiser" were held in this city.  1806 to 1813 the city was the capital of the Rheinbund. 1810 was the capital of Grand Duchy of Frankfurt which included Hanau, Fulda, Wetzler and Aschaffenburg.  In 1866 was annexed by the Hohenzollerns of Prussia.

button Franconian Collegium of Counts (Franische Grafenkolleg) of the Protestant corpus at the Peace of Westphalia.  It should be noted that some of the Counts were not Protestant.  The members were:

[Note - Personal List = Personalist*: title is personal to the title holder and not based on title to a territory bestowed by the Holy Roman Emperor on nobles who did not possess territories or fiefs of the Empire and was an extension of personal favor for their accomplishments in the service of the Emperor.  Some of these noble families later acquired, by purchase or marriages, territories from which other Imperial titles were derived.]

button Freising. Presently in  Upper Bavaria (Oberbayern). A bishopric. Connected to the estates:  (1) Grafschaft Ismaning, (2) Werdenfelds, (3) Innichen in Tirol, Bischoflack in Krain (Skofja Loka), (4) Oberwoelz in Styria.  Represented by Salzburg which was in the Catholic corpus at the Peace of Westphalia.  1802 to 1803 the territory was secularized.  Bavaria absorbed part and Austria absorbed the remainder.

button Friedberg.  Presently in Hessen (Wetterau).  Was Reichsstadt and Grafschaft. Member of the Protestant Corpus at the Peace of Westphalia.  Until 1729 Friedberg was the headquarters of the Rheinische Ritterkreises.  1806 merged with Hessen-Darmstadt....

button Friedrichshafen. See Buchhorn.

button Friesland.  Presently a province in Netherlands.  Capital Leeuwarden.  Landkreis in  Lower Saxony (Niedersachsen) Verwaltllungsbezierk Oldenburg whose capital was Jever.  Was a Grafschaft. 1524 the Dutch province became part of the Hapsburg domain.  There was a division and the area known as West Friesland was part of the Dutch province and the East was part of Germany.  See Ostfriesland.

button Fuerstenberg.  Presently in Donaueschingen, Gaaden-Wu.  Was Grafschaft and principality.  The estates connected were: (1) Feldberg, (2) Kniebis, (3) Moehringen in Donau Schoeberg, (4) Grafschaft Heiligenberg, (5) Herrschaft Messkirch, (6) Landgrafschaft Stuehlingen, (7) Herrschaft Hewen, (8) other estates in Bohemia and Austria.... Another branch of the same family held estates in Silesia.  In 1806 their lands fell to Bayern through "Mediatization".

button Fugger Estates, Counts von.  Connected to the estates of (1) Grafschaft Kirchberg, (2) Herrschaft Weissenhorn, (3) Schmeihen, (5) Pfaffenhofen, (6) Merstetten, (7) Fussendorf, (8) Dischhausen, (9) Wullenstetten, and (10) Babenhausen. Family was Catholic.  Family suppported a Jesuit College at Augsburg.  Their ancestor  was an  "honorable weaver" who owned a measure of land (Tagwekes) in Graben an Lechfeld and later a citizen of Augsburg in 1370. The monies inherited by his sons gave them the opportunity to be engaged with international trade that carried their goods to Levant and as far as the West Indies.

button Fulda.  Presently a Lankreis Fulda in Hessen. Was a principality under a prince-abbot. Abbey Fulda was represented by Bamberg and found in the Catholic corpus at the Peace of Westphalia.  The prince-abbot ruled a small territory in the Rhoen Mountains and from Brueckenau to Hammelburg in Franconia.  During the Reformation there was a great deal of fighting in this area. Became secularized in 1802. In 1815 became part of Hessen-Kassel.



A / B / C  / D / E /F / G / H / H2 / I /J / K /L /M /N /O /P /Q /R /S /T /U / V

/W / X/Y/Z /

German Map Button

Remmick German Facts - Index Page

button to index page

Hubert Home Site




Borodino Home Site